Fourth man convicted of Minneapolis Police Station fire

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) – A federal judge on Monday sentenced the last of four men who pleaded guilty to burning a police station in Minneapolis last summer.

Prosecutors said U.S. District Judge Patrick Schiltz sentenced 27-year-old Bryce Michael Williams to two years and five months in prison and asked him to pay $ 12 million in compensation for the damage.

Williams found himself in a crowd of more than 1,000 people gathered outside the train station against the death of George Floyd during a May 28, 2020 protest. Williams entered the station and lit a Molotov cocktail, which De-Andre Turner used to light a fire, according to court documents.

Schiltz gave Williams less time than federal sentencing guidelines called him a “good person who made a terrible mistake”. But the judge denied Williams’ parole, describing him as a leader in the crowd that evening.

Williams told Schiltz on Monday that he was ashamed of his actions and that he would never forget the pain he caused, the Star Tribune reported.

A federal grand jury charged Williams, Turner, Dylan Shakespeare Robinson and Branden Michael Wolfe together on one point of conspiracy to commit arson. Schiltz sentenced Turner to three years, Robinson to four years, and Wolfe to three years and five months.

Corrected this story to correct the spelling of the US District Judge Patrick Schiltz’s last name. His last name is Schiltz, not Schlitz.

Comments are closed.